Leave a comment

All Night and Day

This is my attempt at writing a sea shanty as per the NaPoWriMo prompt for 3rd April. Since I have never been on a ship or been with sailors, there was no way I could think up a song about them. So instead I focused on creating a song for some people I know who work just as hard and could use a sea shanty.

We work all night and day,
No matter what they say.
We work all night and day,
To earn some extra pay.

We got no time to play,
To keep boredom at bay,
We work all night and day,
T’is what my boss would say.

We work all night and day,
Till all our hairs turn grey.
For our good health we pray,
In cubicles we stay.

Slacking will never pay,
So slog all along the way.
We work all night and day,
Forever, come what may.

Something you need to say?
Our phones are never away.
Work ethics never sway,
As we work all night and day.

We need no holiday,
Sunday to Saturday.
To get our monthly pay,
we’ll work all night and day.

This is for the workaholics and aspiring workaholics I have seen throughout my career. If you want to know my detailed view on workaholics I run a parallel blog and have posted a pretty descriptive article about my view on workaholics.

Leave a Reply

