Leave a comment

A Run in the Dark

Day thirteen of NaPoWriMo. The challenge of the day is to take a walk. I found the idea a bit too placid. So I thought it would be better to write about a run instead.

When most of the world goes running in the morning,
I’ll be curled up in my bed, dreaming and snoring.
By the time I’m up, I can’t think about a run,
For it would not be wise, to take on a blazing sun.

Once it gets darker as the sun goes down,
I slip into my tracks to go run on my own.
Running on the highway, you ought to be careful,
The dust and smoke making life even more stressful.

Your breathing gets heavy and your heart thumps fast,
You keep on wondering how long you’ll last.
You feel like giving up as your muscles start to ache,
You still push yourself, refusing to take a break.

Leave a Reply

