Leave a comment

Italian Socks

Day twenty three of NaPoWriMo. Today’s challenge is to translate a poem in a foreign language based on the way the words sound in English. Having done this in last year’s edition as well, I know the result won’t be pretty. Last year I desecrated an Armenian poem. This time I chose to ruin an Italian poem by Elisa Biagini. My sincere apologies to the poet. The original poem is called ‘The Darkness Dries Up’.

I’ll buy socks,
I may get two.
Respect!

Today,
I told them,
Monday is cold.

Never let the cold,
Bother thee.
For old and poor should eat.

Leave a Reply

