2 Comments

Unrequited

Day four of NaPoWriMo. Today’s prompt is to write a loveless poem. It could be a non typical love poem or a poem about a break up. I chose to write about a love that never happened. This is based on the story of one of my favorite fictional characters. I guess this is my first work that could be classified as fan fiction even though it only comments on the existing story.

We grew up together, we were not liked.
We had few friends, apart from each other.
We were shunned by the world, we were different,
We found support in our own world we made.

We were mocked, ridiculed yet you were kind,
We had hard times, but you always shone bright.
We were outcasts, we were the ones they feared,
We were written off, when you found your feet.

We grew apart as darkness took me in.
We did stay friends throughout our growing years,
We’d still be friends if I’d not used those words.
We did not get a chance to make amends.

I failed our friendship when I let you die,
You could not be saved despite all I tried.
I now have only memories of you,
You left a son who fills me with regrets.

2 comments on “Unrequited

  1. This is my favorite of your NaPoWriMo so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

