Leave a comment

Coral Reef

Day twenty two of NaPoWriMo. Today’s prompt is to write a poem observing earth day.

image

A long time ago, when I was in school,
I watched a documentary on TV.
In a few moments I was mesmerized,
T’was the most stunning thing I’d ever seen.

A planet mostly covered by water,
Surely had to have wonders far from land,
I was too young to follow what was said,
I thought the whole ocean floor looked like that.

Many years passed, the feeling stayed with me,
Gradually I came to know that what I saw,
Was not ocean floor, but a coral reef.

There isn’t anything that looks that good,
The most exotic of ecosystems,
Always a refreshing thing to look at,
An alien place in our watery planet.

Being underwater perhaps kept it safe,
Away from the easy reach of humans.
But now we’ve found ways of killing them too,
Using both direct and indirect means.

Leave a Reply

