Leave a comment

The need for Feminism

Day twenty six of NaPoWriMo. The prompt is to write a poem that’s like a sea shanty, but with a question and answer style. With the answer being the same for every question. I thought of a few recent political campaigns that used this. I thought I’ll dig up a campaign from the past which I was a part of. Think of this as sloganeering.T

image

A collage of misogyny

To stop all discrimination,
I need feminism.
For rights to be guaranteed,
I need feminism.
So all can travel freely,
I need feminism.
Access to public places,
I need feminism.
Freedom to be out at night,
I need feminism.
Make important decisions,
I need feminism.
To not be seen as lesser,
I need feminism.
To remove double standards,
I need feminism.
Against moral policing,
I need feminism.
For smashing patriarchy,
I need feminism.
To remove gender based roles,
I need feminism.
Not to be judged on my looks,
I need feminism.
To challenge the status quo,
I need feminism.
Not to play second fiddle,
I need feminism.
Face the world at equal terms,
I need feminism.
For equal representation,
I need feminism.
To fight domestic violence,
I need feminism.
To act against misogyny,
I need feminism.
To address social evils,
I need feminism.
To be let alone in peace,
I need feminism.

Leave a Reply

