Leave a comment

The Talk

Day one of NaPoWriMo. It is an early bird prompt so I guess I can call it day zero. Today’s prompt is to write a haibun. Which is a combination of prose poem and a haiku.

She looked in all directions, maintaining minimal eye contact. Her eyes seemed watery, her voice unsteady. I glanced at the tray set before me. An unopened box of burger, Fries seemingly trapped under molten cheese. She appeared to be collecting her thoughts, trying to frame a sentence. I’d brought up a topic, something we normally avoided. 

To be without love,

Was not enough because she,

Didn’t want to hurt me.

Leave a Reply

