1 Comment

Parietal Lobe

Day twenty seven of NaPoWriMo. Today’s challenge is to write about taste.

brain1

 

It was a day when I had the feeling,

I should try to eat something new today.

I had tried most of the cuisines I could,

What was it that I’d had never before?

There’s something that I’d avoided before,

Maybe now is the time to go for it.

Taking a moment of deliberation,

Staring at it’s name in the menu card.

I watched it’s long journey to my table,

Sizing it up before getting a taste.

As it was on it’s way into my mouth,

I prepared for the new taste to hit me.

It wasn’t like anything I had tried,

The texture of butter, metallic taste,

It felt nutritious and filling to me.

Thoughts came to me while finishing the meal.

The new tastes registered in my own brain,

Produced by another animal brain,

Capable of registering taste itself,

Made it an experience, I can’t forget.

One comment on “Parietal Lobe

  1. Loved the post. Good stuff! You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

Leave a Reply

